Modeling – How it started part 2


After my photo shoot with Brian Brown, i had a great set of photos to put on modelling sites and send off to potential agents. I uploaded 4 of them to Net-Model.com and started replying to photographer’s ads looking for models, and getting involved with the forums which was a great way to network with other people in the industry. The site was very much like a community, and they would arrange group shoots around the country so everyone could get together, practice ideas and get new shots for their portfolio. I attended a few of those and met some good friends and contacts.

The Miss England competition was coming up and they had a photographic heat for online entrants to win a place in the finals as Miss England Photographic. I thought having my photo online for voting would be a great way to get some exposure so i entered aged 16. After the public voted, i had a telephone interview as one of the top 5! I was chuffed and won a year’s contract with the agency they worked with at the time that provided me with another portfolio shoot and a few jobs throughout the year.

I then joined a website called StarNow.com, it cost around £10 per month to have your portfolio hosted and to apply for jobs but i thought it would be worth it. Not long after joining, i applied to be in a calendar. It looked like fun and i would be wearing clothes so i was happy when i got the phone call to say id got it. My mum drove us all the way to Manchester for the shoot and it was so much fun! The camera crew took me out of the studio and to a local park where there were lots of hoodies having a good old stare so not very glamourous, but the pictures came out really good! We even borrowed one of the hoodies staffy dogs for a few shots!

Shortly after the calendar was published, i had a phone call from the team saying the Daily Star wanted to interview me about the calendar so could they have my phone number? Oh fcuk! Yeah course they can…

So i had my first taste of dealing with the media with absolutely no training on how to deal with the questions. One thing i learnt is that when they say “so would you say this? “don’t say maybe or probably, or anything other than yes or no. The lady asked me, “What would you say a chav wears?” I said “probably lots of gold and Burberry”. She said do you wear “gold and Burberry?” I said, “Well yeah sometimes”. When this interview is published in the paper it says “self proclaimed chav blah blah blah…”

Perfect! The first time im published in a national Newspaper and that’s what it says, with a massive picture of me in a school uniform on a park in Manchester….Not good! Needless to say, all my school friends somehow saw it, and someone found it clever to stick it up in the high school common room. Even though i no longer attended school, i heard all about it! Anyway i learnt to suck it up and move on.

To be continued…..

xEx

About evageorge

Originally from sunny Suffolk, England, currently living in Marbella, Spain and aged 23. I grew up playing the piano, doing gymnastics and dance. I did my first photoshoot aged 14 and was first printed in a newspaper aged 16 in the Daily Star. (A charity calendar shoot) In the years that followed i appeared in various well known UK publications such as News of the World's Fabulous Magazine, The Sun Newspaper, More Magazine, Loaded, Nuts, Zoo, Suga, Bliss, love it!, and many more... Ive also appeared on GMTV talking about young people and plastic surgery, (no i havent had any...yet) and Kate Lawlers Play Date on ITV2. My love for DJ'ing started from spending alot of time in Essex and London from the age of 14 upwards (When i left school). There i discovered vinyl, illegal raves, and underground music. My day jobs varied as i grew up but i always had one. I left school early because even though my grades were good i had a hard time concentrating, keeping quiet, and actually turning up to lessons. High school for me was a meeting place for all my mates and therefore only lunchtimes seemed necessary to attend...There were one or two lessons where the teacher knew how to handle high energy students and i would turn up to those. Its thanks to those teachers that i never gave up on my education. By the time i turned 18, i knew i wanted to do some travelling and this is really when i knew i wanted something crazier than what my mates had in mind. I got a bar job in a bar in Norwich City, saved up some of my wages and moved to Ayia Napa for the summer. There i got a job as a singer and kareoke compare, it was fun and scarey, and definately wasnt for me i prefer to do kareoke after a few drinks with mates, so i didnt do that for long. To be honest im not even sure how i passed the audition for the job as i cant even sing! I then started doing the hair and makeup for the performers instead, and worked in a bar during the day which was perfect. I learnt alot that summer... When i returned to the UK, i got a job as office manager at a supplies company and stayed there for 3 years. Here i learnt proper job responsibility, how to handle a variety of situations, and alot about maths! I thrived on learning how to run a business but after a little while i wanted more so i began modeling again and doing alot of promotional campaigns on the weekends, or days that my boss kindly let me have off. If it wasnt for people like my boss at the time i wouldnt have been able to do half of the things i did. He taught me alot and was like a work father figure who i still think alot of now. After a few years though i was itching to go abroad again. So after doing a few photoshoots in France and Mallorca, i went back to Cyprus for the summer with a friend who after a few weeks found out she was pregnant! So next i headed to Spain....an they havent got rid of me since!Ive lived here in Marbella full time since Feb 2011 and i thought this blog would be a good place to keep my experiences and share with anyone who's interested ;) Currently working with Shaw Marketing Services.
This entry was posted in Modeling & Shoots, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment